Rosie Logo

The Eliot Rosewater Book Award is chosen annually by students across Indiana in grades nine through twelve. Students at participating high schools and public libraries who read any of approximately 20 nominated books are eligible to rate each book they've read.

Eliot Rosewater is a recurring fictional character in Kurt Vonnegut's novels, including God Bless You, Mr. Rosewater. Vonnegut is a famous Hoosier author who grew up in Indianapolis. This award was named to honor him and all Indiana writers.

Eliot Rosewater 2012-2013 Awards



Anna and the French Kiss

Stephanie Perkins


Mike Mullin

Beauty Queens

Libba Bray

Between Shades of Gray

Ruta Sepetys

Bitter End

Jennifer Brown


Amy Reed

Cryer's Cross

Lisa McMann


Vericona Roth

DJ Rising

Love Maia

The Fault in Our Stars

John Green

The Girl of Fire and Thorns

Rae Carson

Going Underground

Susan Vaught

I Beat the Odds

Michael Oher

In the Shadow of the Lamp

Susanne Dunlap

The Knife and the Butterfly

Ashley Hope Perez

Level Up

Gene Yang

Love and Leftovers

Sarah Tregay

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children

Ransom Riggs

One Step at a Time

Josh Bleill

Ready Player One

Ernest Cline


Lauren Myracle

Stupid Fast

Geoff Herbach

There You'll Find Me

Jenny B. Jones


Robison Wells

What Comes After

Steve Watkins