Coretta Scott King Award

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values. The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.

2013 Coretta Scott King Book Award Winner and Honors

Title Author & Illustrator
Author Award P.S. Be Eleven Rita Williams-Garcia
Author Honor Darius and Twig Walter Dean Myers
Author Honor March: Book One John Lewis & Andrew Aydin
Author Honor Words with Wings Nikki Grimes
Illustrator Award Knock Knock: My Dad's Dream for Me Daniel Beaty & Bryan Collier
Illustrator Honor Nelson Mandela Kadir Nelson